Fashion and Makeup Addicts Come Here for your Fix

MAC GRAND DUOS: EXTRA INFO! SPOILERS!

Posted on: February 6, 2009


UPDATE UPDATE UPADTE —  CHECK THE BOTTOM OF THE ARTICLE FOR MY CONTEST TO WIN A FREE MAC GRAND DUO!  YES FOR REAL!!— OK NOW READ ON 🙂

As a makeup addict, sometimes you just despair at never being able to save any money with the makeup companies always launching exciting new collections every other month. I’ve barely made a dent in the 7MAC Mineralize Blushes that I bought last July from the Sonice Chic collection and already now the internet forums are awash with talk about the Mineralize Blush duos that MAC will be launching as part of the Grand Duos collection. No wonder there was this pic of a MAC blush called Love Rock in the new February issue of Elle (Singapore)! – Don’t ask why I was looking at an Elle mag from Singapore, that involves a lot of mai thais and sun.  I was puzzling over it as I hadn’t heard anything about the blush duos…and yes this was awhile back.  Obviously I have already done one article about Grand Duos but I had already written some of this before and now I have some new info.
img_1722Good news is that it looks like another must-have with pretty gold veining. Bad news is that the price has gone up from S$37 to S$41. At this rate of price increases, we’ll be paying more than S$50 for a MAC blush in a couple of years. Now that’s enough to make any makeup addict cranky!

1Here is what MAC says:

 

“Mineralization har swept the beauty nation but MAC makes the next move with Grand duos: mineralize blush that has a marbelized mélange on one side, and a complementary mono-shade on the other.

Soft-shimmer super-shine pearl in a pretty tricolour veining to enhance and glorify cheekbones, followed with the pop and dimension of solid colour shimmer without an overly frosted look. The 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush makes  the transition magnificent. A sophisticated but simple new way to get you vital minerals.”

media_grandduos0011

  • Moon River – blue pink mélange / pale yellow pink
  • Love Rock – Gold violet mélange / bright blue pink
  • Grand Duo – Copper pink mélange / plum
  • Light over Dark – Orange yellow mélange / deep brown
  • Earth to Earth – Purple bronze mélange / yellow brown
  • Hot Planet – Copper yellow mélange / mid-tone plum
  • Intenso – Orange yellow mélange / deep brow
  •  

     

    Here is a couple of nice photos of the Moon River:
    100109makeup005100109makeup006 
    and here it is open ta da!:    100109makeup007
    I have another photo here that was taken without a flash of them all open:
    jan25022
    I do think MAC got it right on this one. From what it looks like, half is a single color blush that is probably the same formula as the Mineralized Blush. The other half appears to be a gorgeous marbelized shade that complements the blush color perfectly. I could totally see myself swirling both colors for a cheek color with some sheen, or going with the obvious use: Blush on cheeks, pretty-swirly-MSF’ey goodness side for a pretty highlight. 
    The collection is set to release March 12, 2009.
    UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE !!!!!!

    —-OK SO I HAVE DECIDED TO DO SOME KIND OF CONTEST FOR ONE LUCKY READER.  EVERYONE HAS BEEN REALLY DIGGIN ON THESE GRAND DUOS SOMETHING FIERCE.  SO I AM TRYING TO THINK UP A CONTEST FOR SOMEONE TO WIN THE GRAND DUO BLUSHER IN THEIR COLOR CHOICE!!  OK SO YOU HAVE TO EMAIL OR LEAVE ME A COMMENT ON WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE COVERED IN THIS BLOG.  I WILL BE PICKING A WINNER ON MARCH 12, 2009.   MAKE SURE YOU LEAVE AN EMAIL ADDRESS SO I CAN GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU IF YOU WIN!!—-
    **credit to some photos at spektra.net**
    7 Responses to "MAC GRAND DUOS: EXTRA INFO! SPOILERS!"

    Hello!

    I have been reading your blog for some time now and I have to confess that it is FABULOUS and has been a source of inspiration for me. I would like to read even more- if that is somehow possible :)- about MAC products as there isn’t a MAC store in my country and all the time that I am travelling abroad I try to refill my stock of MAC make-up products. Also, I would like to read more about Gossip Girl as lately it’s my no1 favourite show and I am very often smitten with the gorgeous outfits. So, keep up the excellent work you have been doing so far and also pick me as a winner 🙂

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    the Girl

    Thank you for the comment! I have many friends that are in countries who do not have MAC stores and I feel very bad for them! 🙂 If you ever need something from MAC please know all you have to do is ask me and I can mail it to you. It’s not a problem for me. I hope you are the winner too! Email me if you ever need anything.

    –SouthernPrincess

    Thank you very much for your response 🙂 You are very very kind and nice 🙂

    Thank you for the info! I heard about these blushes on another site and looked all over Mac’s site and couldn’t find them. Lo and behold…they’re not out yet! I would love to try Love Rock. Check out: http://www.beautybloggingjunkie.com/2009/02/bbj-backstage-at-adam.html
    to see how it looks on. Anyway, I love hearing about new products and your opinions! Thanks for the blog!

    Hi,

    Been reading your blog and I love it!! I love MAC and enjoy looking at the product on here before it comes out.
    It helps me chose what to buy. I guess I’d like more MAC if possible. But either then that I am a happy reader.
    Awesome blog!!!!

    Hi Gurlie!

    I love your blog and you have made me a Mac Makeup Addict officially! lol Now, I cannot resist them. I simply keep checking online for updates on the upcoming collections and your blog has been quite helpful. I would love to try the Grand Duo or Earth to Earth Blush. Thanks and keep updating us with your awesome blog!xoxo

    This site is mostly a walk-through for all of the info you needed about this and didn?t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and you?ll definitely discover it.

    Leave a Reply

        Check Out My Page for Pricing and TONS MORE STOCK!! Jewelry & Fashion!!

    RSS Indian Pakistani Salwar Kameez and Accessories NEW Stylish!! Good Price

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  

    Makeup, Health, News, Tips, Tutorials, Hair

    Flickr Photos

